The 100 Most-Wanted speakers at tech conferences
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Google+
Share on Reddit
Share on Email

Photo Credit: Shutterstock

Factor in data from 3,000 conferences, in depth popularity metrics from social media insights and search engine results, plus a dedicated survey of event organizers – This is what you get

Photo Credit: Shutterstock

Photo Credit: Shutterstock

Stephanie BrennerBy Stephanie Brenner

At Bizzabo, we live and breathe conferences. We know it is always a challenge to find great speakers, so we came up with a list of the most wanted speakers at tech conferences (we promise to list speakers at other industries in the near future). How did we come up with this list? We dug into our database of more than 3,000 conferences (including hundreds of tech events), compared our speaker popularity metrics with social media insights and search engine results (number of followers, number of appearances in search results) and of course – asked event organizers for their dream team of speakers. Some names might be surprising! Enjoy!

Disclaimer: This is an impartial list based on data compiled from tech conferences. It does not in any way represent the views espoused by Bizzabo as a company or as individuals. Needless to say that we hope to see more women and minorities play a major role in the tech industry in general and as event speakers in particular.

 imageedit_311_8505196642

1. Tim Cook @tim_cook

CEO, Apple

imageedit_89_8478100776

2. Jeff Weiner @jeffweiner

CEO, Linkedin

imageedit_91_2687888562

3. Mark Zuckerberg @finkd

Founder & CEO, Facebook

 

imageedit_93_6316196285

4. Tony Hawk @TonyHawk

Professional Skateboarder

imageedit_96_4863873310

5. Satya Nadella @microsoft

Chief Executive Officer, Microsoft

imageedit_333_6492762096

6. Richard Branson @richardbranson

Founder, Virgin Group

imageedit_99_3116440564 

7. Elon Musk @elonmusk

Founder, Space X & Paypal

imageedit_101_9964862197

8. Eric Schmidt @ericschmidt

Executive Chairman, Google

 imageedit_339_7508525960

9. Marc Andreesen @pmarca_blog

Co-Founder, Andreessen Horowitz

imageedit_103_6332865595

10. Kevin Rose @kevinrose

General Partner, Google Ventures

imageedit_106_5683830287

11. Marissa Mayer @marissamayer

CEO of Yahoo!

 imageedit_108_4305352065  

12. Peter Thiel @peterthiel

Entrepreneur and Investor, Paypal

imageedit_110_7128205601 

13. Mark Cuban @mcuban

Serial Entrepreneur

 imageedit_78_8977386020  

14. Matt Mullenweg @photomatt

Founder, WordPress

 imageedit_113_9762583341

15. David Karp @davidkarp

Entrepreneur & Web Developer, Tumblr

 imageedit_115_9232262011  

16. Mark Suster @upfrontvc

Entrepreneur & Investor, Upfront Ventures

imageedit_315_2442640822 17. Dick Costolo @dickcCEO, Twitter
imageedit_317_8175064761 18. Ben Horowitz @bhorowitzCo-Founder, Andreesen Horowitz
 imageedit_117_8478481773  

19. Sheryl Sandberg @sherylsandberg

Chief Operating Officer, Facebook

imageedit_319_4474790208 

20. Brian Solis @briansolis

Principal, Altimeter Group

 imageedit_126_2907249554  

21. Eric Ries @ericries

Founder, Lean Startup methodology

imageedit_321_6204464126 22. Mark Benioff @marc_sfdcFounder & CEO, Salesforce
 imageedit_323_8220800533 23. Reid Hoffman @reidhoffmanCo-founder, LinkedIn
 imageedit_325_5555022738 24. Jack Dorsey @jackCo-Founder, Twitter
 imageedit_327_3809955243 25. Steve Blank @sgblankSerial-Entrepreneur, Lean Startup Movement
 imageedit_128_6897956129  

26.Kara Swisher @karaswisher

Co-Executive Editor, Re/Code

 imageedit_132_6278310630

27. Meg Whitman @megwhitman

CEO, Hewlett-Packard

imageedit_335_5954245794

28. Ashton Kutcher @aplusk

Tech Investory & Co-Founder, Katalust

 imageedit_331_5797109026

29. Jeremiah Owyang @jowyang

Chief Catalyst & Founder, Crowd Companies

 imageedit_134_7520947791

30. Paul Graham @paulg

Co-founder, Y Combinator

imageedit_136_6029486082  

31. Michael Acton Smith @acton

Founder & Creative Director, Mind Candy

 imageedit_68_3353747222  32. Dave McClure @davemcclureFounder, 500startups
imageedit_138_8159937769   

33. Charles Huang @greenthrottle

VP, Blackstone

imageedit_141_3877529043  34. Robert Scoble @scobleizerBlogger, Technical Evangelist, and Author
imageedit_144_8992095753   

35. Gary Vaynerchuk @garyvee

CEO, Vaynermedia

 imageedit_146_5037963956  

36. Tim Armstrong @aol

CEO, AOL Inc.

 imageedit_148_8882674779  

37. John Donahoe @Donahoe_John

CEO, Ebay Inc.

 imageedit_150_6144149884  

38. Sarah Lacy @sarahcuda

Founder, CEO and Editor-in-Chief, PandoDaily.com

 imageedit_152_7396534714  

39. Jonah Peretti @peretti

Founder & CEO, Buzzfeed

 imageedit_155_5168321985  

40. Yves Behar @yvesbehar

Founder Chief Designer fuseproject

 imageedit_157_4400545280  

41. Dennis Crowley @dens

Co-founder, foursquare

imageedit_159_5288195688   

42. Geoff Keighley @geoffkeighley

TV Host & Journalist

 imageedit_161_9400430932  

43. David Carr @nytimes

Journalist, New York Times

imageedit_163_8094602447   

44. David Sacks @DavidSacks

Founder, Yammer

imageedit_337_2395225901 45. Drew HoustonFounder & CEO, Dropbox @drewhouston
 imageedit_165_3198122184  

46. Tony Conrad @tonysphere

Co-Founder, about.me & Sphere

imageedit_80_2206245008 

47. Mike Butcher @mikebutcher

Editor-at-Large, TechCrunch

imageedit_168_7375877421   

48. John Smedley @j_smedley

President, Sony Online Entertainment

imageedit_170_6026686470  

49. Ryan Holmes @Hootsuite

Founder-CEO, Hootsuite

 imageedit_172_9629863608

50. Aaron Levie @levie

CEO, Box

imageedit_174_3259912621  51. Pat Gelsinger @VMware           Chief Executive Officer of VMware
imageedit_75_4295231200  

52. Werner Vogels @Werner

CTO, Amazon

 imageedit_179_6318217553  

53. Alexia Tsotsis @alexia

Co-Editor, TechCrunch

 imageedit_182_8179084137  

54. Martin Bryant @MartinSFP

Editor- in -Chief, Next Web

imageedit_184_8317057497   

55. Patrick Lee @rottendoubt

Co-Founder & Former CEO , Rotten Tomatoes

imageedit_186_9782208863 56. Niklas Zennstrom @atomicoventuresEntrepreneur, Skype & Kazaa
imageedit_188_2203479476   

57. Michael Sippey @sippey

Advisor, Twitter

imageedit_193_6278544500   

58. Jeremy Stoppleman @jeremys

CEO, Yelp

imageedit_196_7879228629  59. Julie Uhrman @juhrmanFounder, OUYA
imageedit_198_6396293595   

60. Padmasree Warrior @Padmasree

CTO, Cisco

imageedit_70_8154409680   

61. David Rowan @iRowan

Editor, Wired

 imageedit_82_7779044270

62. Scott Belsky @scottbelsky

VP of Products, Adobe

imageedit_201_2709502831 

63.  Naval Ravikant @naval

Co-Founder, AngeList

imageedit_203_2784104857  64. Michael Jackson @overdrevCo-founder and CEO of Mangrove
 imageedit_205_7820489399

65. Adam Braun @adambraun

Founder, Pencils of Promise 

imageedit_208_5598187260   

66. Matthew Prince @eastdakota

Co-founder and CEO of CloudFlare

 imageedit_213_8500908102  

67. Shervin Pishevar @sherpa

Co-Founder & CEO of Sherpa Global

imageedit_215_8159521535 

68. Gina Bianchini @ginab

Founder & CEO, Mightybell

 imageedit_217_6944884009  

69. Jeff Clavier @jeff

Founder, SofTech VC

 imageedit_220_9564553584  

70. Chamath Palihapitiya @chamath

Venture Capitalist, Playdom & Bumptop

 imageedit_224_6179132279  

71. Adeo Ressi @adeoressi

Founder & CEO of The Founder Institute

 imageedit_226_7989062786  

72. Ben Rooney @benjrooney

Co-Editor in Chief, Informilo

 imageedit_228_3793061818

73. Bing Gordon @bingfish

General Partner, KPCB

 imageedit_232_7057738225  

74. Caroline Hyde @CarolineHydeTV

Reporter, BloombergTV

 imageedit_234_9827247481  

75. Ashwin Navin @ashwinnavin

Co-Founder & CEO, Samba TV

 imageedit_236_2681537166  

76. Jon Oringer @jonoringer

Founder & CEO, Shutterstock

 imageedit_238_9354641765  77. Christy Wyatt @christywyattPresident & CEO, Good Technology
 imageedit_240_8577518023  

78. Sam Shank @samshank

Entrepreneur and Investor, Hotel Tonight

 imageedit_242_8767165143  

79. Keith Teare @Kteare

Entrepreneur & Founder, Just.me

 imageedit_248_9987239796-1  

80. Patrick Collison @patrickc

Co-Founder & CEO, Stripe

 imageedit_251_9704977363  

81. Cyan Banister @cyantist

CEO, Zivity.com

 imageedit_253_8879921782  

82. Porter Gale @portergale

Author, Your Network Is Your Net Worth

 imageedit_255_5260061766

83. Brendan Iribe @brendaniribe

CEO, Oculus   

 imageedit_258_9224674444

84. Jennifer Hyman @Jenn_RTR

Co-Founder & CEO, Rent The Runway

imageedit_260_7580704424   

85. Jay Bregman @jaybregman

Founder & CEO, Hailo

imageedit_262_7873066101  86. Katia Beauchamp @katiawbCo-Founder & CEO, Birchbox
 imageedit_264_6647903725  

87. Peter Fredell @seamless

CEO, Seamless

 imageedit_266_3372153241  

88. Peter Arvai @Peterarvai

Founder & CEO, Prezi

 imageedit_268_4204604659  

89. Joshua Reeves @joshuareeves

Co-Founder & CEO, ZenPayroll

 imageedit_270_9610982477

90. Jeffrey Lu @Jiffylu

CEO and co-founder of Daily Aisle

 imageedit_272_8903100863  

91. Gentry Underwood @gentry

Co- Founder & CEO , Mailbox (Now Dropbos)

 imageedit_278_3857321735  

92. Jimmy Maymann @maymann

CEO, Huffington Post

 imageedit_280_6585295282

93. Mikkel Svane @mikkelsvane

CEO of Zendesk

 imageedit_283_2564007453  

94. Glenn Fogel @glennfogel

Head of Worldwide Strategy and Planning, The Priceline Group

imageedit_288_2472266778  95. Vijay Sankaran @vijaysankaranChief Technology Director, Ford
 imageedit_290_4846558399

96. Stephen Master @stephenmaster13

SVP – Global Head of Sports Practice, The Nielsen Company

imageedit_292_4430709525   

97. Lew Cirne @sweetlew

Chief Data Nerd, New Relic

 imageedit_294_9172041784  98. Adrian Cockcroft @adriancoTechnology Fellow, Battery Ventures
 imageedit_296_4372479271

99. Kristian Segerstrale @ksegerstrale

Co-Founder, Playfish

 imageedit_298_2371632453 100. Kate Matsudaira @KatematsFounder, Popforms

Well, there you have it – 100 of the most wanted speakers in the tech industry! Adding any of these tech pros to your roster is sure to spice up any conference.  We may have missed some awesome speakers, so feel free to leave a suggestion in a comment below.

Photo Credit: Shutterstock/ Police Lineup

This post was originally published on the Bizzabo blog

Share on:Share
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Google+
Share on Reddit
Share on Email

More Goodies From Entrepreneurship


5 Tips for Diversify Your Portfolio as an Entrepreneur

Top 10 tech startups in Calgary, Alberta

4 reasons startups should consider moving to Toronto

  • Just a comment…

    Seems like this list is a bunch of CEOs of tech platforms – but what about marketers at agencies and large companies that are enabling the venue for these very platforms to continue funding and sparking innovation. People like Gary Vaynerchuk, and Bonin Bough…